For the second part of this tech task I decided to do some exploring of the google app Picasa. Lately I have been really into photos, and using photos to document events in my life. The more I am learning about blogging, the more I am realizing that it is something I would absolutely love to use within my classroom. Having a secure site, assessable to the parents of the students in my classroom where I can post what we are learning about, and document some of the students learning, is a great way to encourage parents to become more involved in their child's education. One of my favourite things about Picasa is that you can create a secure space for the parents to go and view photos of their child. Along with a classroom blog, allowing parents access to a Picasa space, where photos are added of their children in the learning environment they can see how their child is learning. I also love that it has so many different editing tools so you can edit pictures to make them look exactly how you want.

I also think that I would use this site in my personal life, as well as my professional life. I love that you can create secure spaces. I have many girlfriends with kids, who use Facebook and Instagram to keep all of their friends updated with photos and comments of their children growing up, Picasa could also be a great space to do this within, as you can control who can see what you are posting. I also think that I would use it while travelling, to update family and friends of the adventures that I am involved in while travelling the world, as I someday hope to do.

If you haven't already checked out Picasa, it is definately worth looki



Leave a Reply.